oto. hands-d254

mono no aware
oto. cd

hands. hands-d254

five years after his ambitious tatema/honnae album, hands powerhouse leif künzel returns with his sixth album in 17 years. expect a good hour of concise and on-spot rhythm noise cuts, relentlessly upfront and raw, just the way they have made mono no aware a much-revered live act and regular on the upper slots of the big festivals. but be aware that amid the maelstrom of tenacious rhythms and the trademark wall of noise, some canny production details lie hidden and wait to be discovered. oto includes remixes by project erratic and industrial veteran philipp münch. oto is noise, the essence of the mono no aware sound. typically, it is created by layering and thus joining different noises, culled from various contexts. sound has no meaning without a receptor who renders possible its transition into memory. the palindrome oto directs the attention to what matters, the centre, the audible. kicking off with a very short ‘fade in’, mono no aware makes no bones about where this is going: vigorous and agitating rhythm noise, with the emphasis on the latter. short lo-fi intros (‘where the deep grass grows’, ‘minikuininatta’, kirschberg’) or just piercing noise pitches (‘2nd face’, ‘transient life’) create the tension before all hell breaks loose, and only for the shortest fragment of a second single elements become audible. and then there’s that: only a bass riff leading ‘red devils with blue eyes’, a metallic rumble being the sole pursuit of ‘kikai’, concrete sounds shaping the outro ‘übergang’, and of course the remixes bringing in some entirely different sonic textures. that said, oto truly succeeds in its goal to reveal the essence of noise, through a self-referential consolidation as well as by peeking out of the box. oto demands your attention!


1 fade in
2 where the deep grass grows
3 aware
4 72
5 sabi
6 furafurafura (philipp münch remix)
7 red devils with blue eyes
8 kirschberg
9 2nd face
10 new cut (full)
11 transient life
12 minikuininatta
13 f12
14 2nd face (project erratic remix)
15 kaki
16 übergang