inspiration. act224

the [law-rah] collective
inspiration. cd, mp3 album

ant-zen. act224

buy cd for 4.00 EUR

download "inspiration" from

this time the [law-rah] collective is martijn pieck and bauke van der wal. bauke is the founder and original member of the collective, hence the first releases being the result of his personal twisted mind. within the years of law-rah's existence, he worked together with several people and re-evaluated the collectiveness of the project, which on its turn changed from a solo-project with a weird name to a true collective of artists in auditive and visual areas. after knowing each other since 1993 and sharing many hours making music together in the mid 90's both martijn and bauke went into different directions concerning making electronic music, until the time was right to start working together again in the autumn of 2007. with the release of this album martijn became a full member of the collective and ideas for many future projects are already locked into their collective mind. compared with the collective's conceptual works like '1953', which was an earlier release by bauke and dutch writer, vocalist and member of the collective hiekelien van den herik, this album's subject is a more private and subliminal one. all track titles are related to baukes and martijns home town utrecht, and to the history they shared there over the years. musically, 'inspiration' can be clearly identified as a a new step in the [law-rah] collective's exploration of their electronic microcosm. sub-basslines and drones interact with beautiful idm'ish melody lines and pulsing motorik beat sequences, inducing a majestic and sometimes melancholic overall impression. deep, haunting and phantasmagorial sounds, adapted for giving one's fancy full scope. this is a truly inspired journey through two persons' pasts and presents.


1 ledig erf
2 de gesloten steen
3 amelisweerd
4 weerdsluis
5 a12
6 't luie end